Don't lock me out of widget options
In all the widget options, if you turn off "Show button for
configuration", provide a "secret" way of turning it back on (something
like double-clicking the title panel). This way you won't be able to be
accidentally locked out forever.
You can set the widget to open setting when clicking on the header. Additionally you can export your settings to have them backed up.